Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Question about Incapacitaion

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> SW General Chat & Game Stories
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Volt875
Seasoned


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:47 pm    Post subject: Question about Incapacitaion Reply with quote

Perhaps this is just a hold over from my D&D days but when your character is incapacitated by damage does he/she go unconscious or is it DM's call?
_________________
"...If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world. But sad or merry, I must leave it now. Farewell!"- Thorin Oakenshield; The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zadmar
Legendary


Joined: 10 Nov 2010
Posts: 2239
Location: Munich

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In SWEX it was explicitly stated that a success on the Incapacitation roll meant "the hero is unconscious", while a raise allowed you to remain conscious and keep on fighting.

SWD doesn't specify as far as I can tell, although it's unlikely to matter in most cases, as the incapacitated character can't even perform free actions. Personally I might be tempted to let the player remain conscious on a raise if it mattered for the story (eg they're hoping to catch a glimpse of the villain's face before he flees).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newForumNewName
Heroic


Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 1796
Location: Broomfield, CO

PostPosted: Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pretty sure that SWD says Incapacitation always means at least unconsciousness. Could be wrong. It's been a while since I read it.
_________________
"I had a whole bunch of advice for you but got ninja'd by newForumNewName. I'd just do what he says." -- 77IM

"While nFNN could be less of a jerk about how he says what he says, what he says is essentially correct." -- ValhallaGH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ValhallaGH
Legendary


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 6223

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I usually leave them conscious if I want them to see their horrible fate as they lie helpless on the deck.

Otherwise, I give the player something to roll for (allies, monsters, something) to keep the player fully engaged until it's time for aftermath.
_________________
"Got a problem? I've got the solution: Rocket Launcher."
"Not against a Servitor."
"... We're all gonna die."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17741

PostPosted: Thu Nov 29, 2012 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's up to the GM based on the situation.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> SW General Chat & Game Stories All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum