Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

A Trick Shakes a target, does that Shaken count for wounds?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kertain
Novice


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:08 am    Post subject: A Trick Shakes a target, does that Shaken count for wounds? Reply with quote

Morning,
I have a player who does a trick against a bad guy.
He succeeds with a raise and cause the baddy to be Shaken.

Either that same round, or later on the baddy is damaged with a normal success. Does the baddy take a wound?

I have seen the answer "yes" a few times, but the SW:D states
(page 68 under Applying Damage: Success):
"...To cause a wound, the later Shaken result must come from a physical attack of some kind- not a test of wills or other maneuver"

According to that statement, the Shaken result taken from a trick (or test of wills for that matter) does not count to further Wounds.

So I am confused:
http://www.peginc.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=36289&highlight=trick+shaken+wound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17982

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:00 am    Post subject: Re: A Trick Shakes a target, does that Shaken count for woun Reply with quote

Kertain wrote:
Morning,
I have a player who does a trick against a bad guy.
He succeeds with a raise and cause the baddy to be Shaken.

Either that same round, or later on the baddy is damaged with a normal success. Does the baddy take a wound?


If he is still Shaken, yes.

Kertain wrote:
I have seen the answer "yes" a few times, but the SW:D states
(page 68 under Applying Damage: Success):
"...To cause a wound, the later Shaken result must come from a physical attack of some kind- not a test of wills or other maneuver"

According to that statement, the Shaken result taken from a trick (or test of wills for that matter) does not count to further Wounds.


Check that sentence again, noting the bolded and underlined part...

"...To cause a wound, the later Shaken result must come from a physical attack of some kind- not a test of wills or other maneuver"

The later Shaken result has to come from damage, but the earlier Shaken the target already has can come from anything, including a Test of Wills, Trick, Fear, whatever.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum