Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Swarms - when does damage get rolled?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Wibbs
Veteran


Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 620
Location: London

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 7:49 am    Post subject: Swarms - when does damage get rolled? Reply with quote

Hey,

If a character starts their turn not in a swarm, runs right through it and then ends up out the other side, does the swarm get a chance to do any damage to them?

Logically I would say yes, but based on other questions that clarify a swarm is treated as one creature for attack purposes, they answer could well be no.

Thanks,

Wibbs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18036

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:57 am    Post subject: Re: Swarms - when does damage get rolled? Reply with quote

Wibbs wrote:
If a character starts their turn not in a swarm, runs right through it and then ends up out the other side, does the swarm get a chance to do any damage to them?

Logically I would say yes, but based on other questions that clarify a swarm is treated as one creature for attack purposes, they answer could well be no.


Damage for a swarm is rolled on their action (unless they get a free attack for some reason like a character leaving close combat as discussed in a thread below).

So yeah, it would be theoretically possible to run through a swarm without being "effectively" attacked. However, such swarms would almost be a textbook definition of Difficult Ground, halving movement, so unless the character is just cutting a corner, rolls very well on their Running die, or is naturally fast, it's entirely possible not to make it all the way (the decision to run through is made before rolling the die not after).

And even if they do make it through, it'd be even more unlikely to move so far going through the swarm that the swarm can't simply take its action to move to affect the character that just got its attention. Twisted Evil Wink

Again though, it's possible and could be cool in a dramatic situation, but usually not the best tactical choice unless desperate.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum