Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The Drop and being shaken

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Wilborg
Novice


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2012 3:10 am    Post subject: The Drop and being shaken Reply with quote

Hi there,

i have a question about having The Drop and being Shaken.
An evil vagabond holds his knife at the throat of a beautiful maiden. He gets the Drop on her and says to the incomming knight: "Lay down your weapon and surrender or i will kill this girl". The knight decides to attack the vagabond. He wins the Agility roll vs. the bandit and his attack is successful. The damage is enough to shaken the vagabond. He looses his On Hold status because of being shaken. Does he also loose the Drop? The vagabond must immediately make a spirit roll to recover from being shaken. He gets a raise (or spends a Bennie) and is able act normally. He still wants to kill the girl.
Does he still have the Drop benefit (+4 damage +4 attack) or must he make a normal attack roll with his knife to kill his victim?

thanks
Wilborg
_________________
http://zettelhelden.de/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18039

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 8:30 am    Post subject: Re: The Drop and being shaken Reply with quote

Wilborg wrote:
i have a question about having The Drop and being Shaken.
An evil vagabond holds his knife at the throat of a beautiful maiden. He gets the Drop on her and says to the incomming knight: "Lay down your weapon and surrender or i will kill this girl". The knight decides to attack the vagabond. He wins the Agility roll vs. the bandit and his attack is successful. The damage is enough to shaken the vagabond. He looses his On Hold status because of being shaken. Does he also loose the Drop? The vagabond must immediately make a spirit roll to recover from being shaken. He gets a raise (or spends a Bennie) and is able act normally. He still wants to kill the girl.
Does he still have the Drop benefit (+4 damage +4 attack) or must he make a normal attack roll with his knife to kill his victim?


Well, first off, the "vagabond" would not have been on Hold once the Agility roll was made. At that point, the character decided to take his action and was making the Opposed Agility roll to see who took their action first. So he could not lose his Hold status since it was already "dropped" to make the Agility roll.

In that situation, the rest of the premise could follow as the "vagabond" would resolve his actions immediately after the "knight." If Shaken, he would need a raise on the Spirit roll or spending a Benny to act that round.

The question to whether he still has the Drop depends on when his target acts. If the "maiden" is an allied NPC acting on the knight's initiative, then she as well would act before the "vagabond," and since actions can be resolved in any order, she could move away from him after he was Shaken, resulting in no attack (and no attack for leaving close combat since he is Shaken). Once she was no longer in the hostage position, the Drop would be lost of course.

If for some reason, she acted after the "vagabond" with the Drop on her, then yes, if he got a raise on the Spirit roll or spent a Benny to remove the Shaken condition and still act that round, he could choose to attack with The Drop.

Just for completeness sake, if he had chosen to remain on Hold for some reason when the "knight" attacked, when Shaken he would not only have lost his Shaken status but all actions for that round. He would have to spend a Benny immediately to retain his action.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum