Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Frenzy - declaring targets

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ThatGiantMan
Novice


Joined: 14 Sep 2012
Posts: 16
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:00 pm    Post subject: Frenzy - declaring targets Reply with quote

So, with Frenzy, I can make two fighting attacks (two fighting dice, one wild die), potentially attacking two opponents, but at what point do I have to declare who I'm attacking?

A) Roll dice, resolve each attack in turn - "Ok, a 9, 7 and 6... I'll apply the 9 to opponent A... hit... *poor damage roll*... ok, I'll apply the 7 to opponent A as well... hit.. and he's dead."

B) Roll dice, assign targets, resolve attacks - "Ok, a 9, 7 and 6... I'll apply the 9 to target A and the 7 to target B... the 9 hits and the 7 misses."

C) Assign targets, roll dice, assign dice, resolve attacks - "Ok, I'll put one attack on A and one on B... a 9, a 3 and a 2... I guess I'll apply the 9 to target A as he's the bigger threat... the 3 will obviously miss B."

D) Assign targets, assign dice, roll dice, resolve attacks - "Ok, I'll attack both guys... red fighting die on A, blue fighting die on B... red is a 9, so that will hit... blue is a 2... the wild die is 3, so not going to help."


To me, C looks like the fastest and fairest method, but I wondered if there's an official answer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18053

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 4:21 pm    Post subject: Re: Frenzy - declaring targets Reply with quote

ThatGiantMan wrote:
So, with Frenzy, I can make two fighting attacks (two fighting dice, one wild die), potentially attacking two opponents, but at what point do I have to declare who I'm attacking?

C) Assign targets, roll dice, assign dice, resolve attacks - "Ok, I'll put one attack on A and one on B... a 9, a 3 and a 2... I guess I'll apply the 9 to target A as he's the bigger threat... the 3 will obviously miss B."

D) Assign targets, assign dice, roll dice, resolve attacks - "Ok, I'll attack both guys... red fighting die on A, blue fighting die on B... red is a 9, so that will hit... blue is a 2... the wild die is 3, so not going to help."


To me, C looks like the fastest and fairest method, but I wondered if there's an official answer.


Either C or D would work (since it is a single action targets need to be chosen before resolution), and as long as both the players and the GM use the same system, they're balanced. C would be fastest though as you said.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum