Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Stacking 'Scholar'

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lysander
Seasoned


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 446
Location: San Antonio, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:53 pm    Post subject: Stacking 'Scholar' Reply with quote

Can you stack successive 'Scholar' edges to the same 2 Knowledge Skills so as to get a +4 with each (and +6 w/ 3 edges stacked, and so on...) or do you have to pick 2 other Knowledges to apply a 2nd Scholar edge to...?
_________________
There is no problem in this Universe that can't be solved with the application of roasted porcine flesh...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wSReSGe200A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18141

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:03 am    Post subject: Re: Stacking 'Scholar' Reply with quote

Lysander wrote:
Can you stack successive 'Scholar' edges to the same 2 Knowledge Skills so as to get a +4 with each (and +6 w/ 3 edges stacked, and so on...) or do you have to pick 2 other Knowledges to apply a 2nd Scholar edge to...?


Short version; nope, it's not possible.

Long version; first and most importantly, the Edge never states it can be taken more than once, and as noted in the introduction to Edges, "Unless an Edge specifically says otherwise, it may only be selected once." Scholars get to be an expert in two fields; they should be chosen carefully.

Secondly, even if it is allowed to take the Edge more than once, stacking Professional Edges is covered in the introduction to that type, stating, "Stacking: Bonuses to the same Trait from different Professional Edges do not stack."

And since that reference does expect that those Edges can't be taken more than once (thus they would have to be "different"), it would also apply to the same Edge taken more than once as that would be a different instance of that Edge.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum