Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Fistful of Reach Weapons

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Volt875
Seasoned


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:18 am    Post subject: Fistful of Reach Weapons Reply with quote

Hello people at Pinnacle, back yet again with a couple more questions.

1) Damage for a punch or kick is just Str right? Where, if anywhere, does it say it in the book?
2) This is a question about the free attack granted by moving out of combat and reach weapons. Lets say your attacking at reach while your ally engages the enemy in melee. The enemy goes to retreat, do you get a free swipe or just your ally who is engaged in melee? (I suppose this question could be simplified to being does attacking with reach count as being engaged in melee.)

Once again thank you for your time.


P.S. It's still cool #gunbattle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18060

PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:28 am    Post subject: Re: Fistful of Reach Weapons Reply with quote

Volt875 wrote:
1) Damage for a punch or kick is just Str right? Where, if anywhere, does it say it in the book?


It's noted under Damage in the Combat section (pg. 67 of SWD or page 76 of SWDEx)...

"Unarmed Combat Damage: An unarmed combatant rolls only his Strength die."


Volt875 wrote:
2) This is a question about the free attack granted by moving out of combat and reach weapons. Lets say your attacking at reach while your ally engages the enemy in melee. The enemy goes to retreat, do you get a free swipe or just your ally who is engaged in melee? (I suppose this question could be simplified to being does attacking with reach count as being engaged in melee.)


The rule relates to "Close Combat" and notes specifically, "all adjacent non-Shaken opponents" get a free attack. The foe has to be adjacent to get the free attack, and attacking from Reach by definition makes a character not adjacent, so they would not get the free attack.

That said, attacking at Reach does mean a character is still engaged in melee; they just aren't adjacent. So a character with a spear for example can back 1" away from an adjacent foe and not trigger a free attack (as long as they don't move farther than their reach and remain "in melee" the same round they moved).
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum