Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Of Powers and Trappings

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Volt875
Seasoned


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2012 1:25 pm    Post subject: Of Powers and Trappings Reply with quote

Hello again Savage Worlds guys and gals. Ran a game last night and so back with more questions.
1) When you select a power for an arcane background do you select a trapping then and that's what that power looks like from then on out or can you change it every time you cast it? (Granted I allow them to change it every time they cast and that's the way I'm gona keep doing it, I'm just curious the official ruling.
2) With the bolt power firing multiple bolts it works like autofire as far as one wild die yes?
3) Can a power be taken as a trademark weapon? (As a side note where I do powers the way I do I plan to make them select one trapping for the trademark.)
4) The teleport power says it counts as movement. Does this mean I could teleport and then cast another power such as burst?

Again, thank you for your time.

P.S. cause I think it's cool #gunbattle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18031

PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2012 1:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Of Powers and Trappings Reply with quote

Volt875 wrote:
1) When you select a power for an arcane background do you select a trapping then and that's what that power looks like from then on out or can you change it every time you cast it? (Granted I allow them to change it every time they cast and that's the way I'm gona keep doing it, I'm just curious the official ruling.


Well, "officially" it would depend on the setting. Most settings require choosing a specific trapping when a power is taken, but 50 Fathoms for instance has elemental trappings and characters can take an Edge to switch between two (or more) different elements if allowed to a power they have.

Typically though, it's one trapping or a "cost" (like an Edge) to use others; otherwise, arcane characters can have carte blanche access to the potential weaknesses of certain foes that other characters would not.

Volt875 wrote:
2) With the bolt power firing multiple bolts it works like autofire as far as one wild die yes?


Yep. It's one action.

Volt875 wrote:
3) Can a power be taken as a trademark weapon?


Not by the specific description of that Edge, but it could easily fall under Setting Rules to allow the Edge to apply to the attack roll portion of a power that has that function (again, not the casting result just the attack one).

Volt875 wrote:
4) The teleport power says it counts as movement. Does this mean I could teleport and then cast another power such as burst?


Not unless the two powers were activated by different skills. Characters can't perform the same action in the same round even if one is a "normal" action and one is a free one. So if the character uses Spellcasting (for instance) in a round to teleport, he can't also use it to cast burst in the same round.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum