Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

does bolt = range tn

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Billystarfish
Novice


Joined: 13 Aug 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 3:47 am    Post subject: does bolt = range tn Reply with quote

After reading a bit through other peoples questions I'm a bit confused as to whether or not you count a bolt spell has a ranged attack at a short distance TN of 4 or so on depenting on distance? I understand you count the casting roll as both the ability to successfully conjure the spell and as a measurement of success to hit the opponent. That goes against the ranged TN of 4 and not their Parry, correct?[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18050

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 1:51 pm    Post subject: Re: does bolt = range tn Reply with quote

Billystarfish wrote:
After reading a bit through other peoples questions I'm a bit confused as to whether or not you count a bolt spell has a ranged attack at a short distance TN of 4 or so on depenting on distance? I understand you count the casting roll as both the ability to successfully conjure the spell and as a measurement of success to hit the opponent. That goes against the ranged TN of 4 and not their Parry, correct?


Mostly.

As noted under Range for Powers <italics added>, "If a power lists three Ranges, such as 12/24/48, these are read just like missile weapon Ranges, and subtract the standard penalties for each Range bracket (0/–2/–4). The arcane character’s skill roll acts as both his “casting” and attack total for these type powers."

So it works like missile weapons, meaning yes, they typically face the standard TN of 4 to hit but with all modifiers that would apply to ranged attacks (range, cover, darkness, etc.) applied to the "attack total" (not casting total).

But that could mean that if a target was adjacent to the caster the bolt would be subject to the rule on Ranged Weapons in Close Combat, and they would face Parry to hit the target instead of a 4.

Hope that helps.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum