Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

[EN] leveling in evernight

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> SW Official Settings & Companions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
khyskilgo
Novice

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2012 2:34 am    Post subject: [EN] leveling in evernight Reply with quote

this is my first time running anything in a savage worlds game, i've been a player but have never run the show.
now my question is, how to award experience to have it scale correctly, should they be going up a tier after each chapter or a whole rank, or do i reward experience based on the difficulty of the scene?
Enno
Veteran

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

None of the above.

Awarding xp is a simple rule described on p124 of the SWD.

Per session you reward 1-3 xp to everyone, with an usual average of 2 xp. You may hand out 1 or 2 xp extra if the players accomplished something major, or if it was a memorable and fun session. But hand out such extra xp sparingly, as the normal progression assumes a level-up every 2-3 sessions.

Getting xp isn't the focus in SW, having a good time is! Wink
Lysander
Seasoned

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2012 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I run an online Savage Worlds Star Wars Game, and we only play 2-2.5 hours a session. I was handing out 2xp per and by the time we got to the end of chapter 2 of 10, they are already knocking on the door to the 3th Rank (Heroic). So had to tone it back to 1xp/session, and a +1 at a major milestone or end of chapter.