Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Melee Combat Damage and Wild Dice?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sirkerry
Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 63
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 8:44 pm    Post subject: Melee Combat Damage and Wild Dice? Reply with quote

I came across this sentence in a 3rd party SW product tonight:
Quote:
Remember that melee weapon damage does not include a Wild Die


Is this correct? I was taught that whenever a melee weapon lists for example STR + d6 as it's damage and when it's a Wild Card character rolling the damage they'd roll whatever their STR die is along with their Wild Die and take the highest value.
_________________
-Kerry Harrison
Organizer, Space City Savages
Running: 50 Fathoms
Prepping: several different scenarios
Playing: New Year's War Playtest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17926

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2012 7:29 am    Post subject: Re: Melee Combat Damage and Wild Dice? Reply with quote

sirkerry wrote:
I came across this sentence in a 3rd party SW product tonight:
Quote:
Remember that melee weapon damage does not include a Wild Die


Is this correct? I was taught that whenever a melee weapon lists for example STR + d6 as it's damage and when it's a Wild Card character rolling the damage they'd roll whatever their STR die is along with their Wild Die and take the highest value.


That is correct as noted under Damage (pg. 67 of SWD)...

"Even though Strength is used to determine melee damage, this isnít a Trait roll. Wild Cards donít add a Wild Die to the roll and they canít spend Bennies if theyíre unhappy with the results."
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum