Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Jetpack Jockey Flyby Melee Attack Question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pcrh
Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 1:34 pm    Post subject: Jetpack Jockey Flyby Melee Attack Question Reply with quote

If a jetpack jockey flies past an opponent and makes a melee attack as he moves by, some questions arise:

- can the jockey keep moving after his melee attack, ending his move somewhere out of melee range from his target?
- if the jockey can keep moving after his attack, does his target get a free attack on the jockey since the jockey is disengaging from melee as he flies past?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17703

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:22 am    Post subject: Re: Jetpack Jockey Flyby Melee Attack Question Reply with quote

pcrh wrote:
If a jetpack jockey flies past an opponent and makes a melee attack as he moves by, some questions arise:

- can the jockey keep moving after his melee attack, ending his move somewhere out of melee range from his target?
- if the jockey can keep moving after his attack, does his target get a free attack on the jockey since the jockey is disengaging from melee as he flies past?


As with the other question, there is no "jetpack" in the core rules, so any specifics related to its use would depend on how it actually worked in the setting it exists in.

In general though, a character can resolve their actions at any point during their movement. So given a Pace of 6", a character could move 2", attack, and then move up to 4" more.

And yes, if a character makes a melee attack on another character they move adjacent to and then continues to move past them, they pretty much exemplify the very definition of withdrawing from close combat. As long as the target was not Shaken, he would get a free attack.

Hope that helps.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum