Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

a question about skills or more about the lack of skills

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dr_Hell
Novice


Joined: 03 Aug 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Aug 03, 2012 6:05 am    Post subject: a question about skills or more about the lack of skills Reply with quote

i dont know if theres a post about this already im new to the forum and im a bit lazy so i make a new post ..

Im quite new to savage worlds i have never played it before and i taken upon myself to be the marshall for a deadlands reloaded game

but one question came to mind when i was reading the deadlands books and the savage worlds core rolebook

it says that if you dont have a skill you roll a die anyway a d4 and subtract 2 and you also get to roll your wild die

but i cant see any use for rolling the d4-2 since that can never reach the target value of 4 unless heavily modified and since you also get to roll your wild die that gives you a 50% chans om sucsess so why just not skip the d4-2 and state that you get to roll just your wild die and that gives you a 50% chans of sucsess or faliure

you have to exscuse my spelling im from sweden so english isnt my native language
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18047

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:05 am    Post subject: Re: a question about skills or more about the lack of skills Reply with quote

Dr_Hell wrote:
it says that if you dont have a skill you roll a die anyway a d4 and subtract 2 and you also get to roll your wild die

but i cant see any use for rolling the d4-2 since that can never reach the target value of 4 unless heavily modified and since you also get to roll your wild die that gives you a 50% chans om sucsess so why just not skip the d4-2 and state that you get to roll just your wild die and that gives you a 50% chans of sucsess or faliure


Two things here...

First, as noted under Unskilled Attempts (pg. 63 of SWD) <italics added>, "Wild Card characters still get their Wild Die for these rolls (which are also subject to the 2 penalty)."

So the -2 penalty (like any modifier in the game) applies to both the d4 and the Wild Die when rolled.

Second, also noted in that same section, Trait Tests, for Unskilled Attempts, it discusses Aces (pg. 62 of SWD). All Trait and damage rolls in the game Ace, which means if the highest number is rolled on a die, it is rerolled and the results are added.

So it is possible to succeed with a -2 (or worse even) modifier on a d4 with a TN of 4 by rolling a 4 and then a 2 or better. It's even possible to get a raise or better by rolling a 4 then another 4 and so on.

Hope that clarifies and welcome to the forums.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum