Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Devices in the Super Powers Companion ---Help please!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BobSagetReturns
Novice


Joined: 28 Jul 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 2:44 am    Post subject: Devices in the Super Powers Companion ---Help please! Reply with quote

I am very confused.
In the Super Powers Companion, it provides a not so detailed explanation of Devices.
The book says that the Devices(items you can put powers into) are a universal modifier.
This modifier is -1 for every 5 total power points (and part thereof) each power costs after modifiers.
My understanding is that the devices recieve a -1 modifer automatically for every 5 points inveseted into the device.
However, the examples given, read as follows:

Quote:
Figure each type of power the device grants separately—with a minimum cost of 1.
Absorption, which costs 3 points, for example, costs only 2 points if contained in a device.
Armor +6 normally costs 4 points, but costs only 3 if it’s a device (power armor, a vest, and so on).
- Devices, Super Powers Companion, Pinnacle Entertainment Group.


So which one is it?
Do devices get a -1 modifer even if you only use 2 points on one power?
Do they get a -1 modifer just for being on a device?
Or is there something else I'm missing here?
Any help would be great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17983

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:10 am    Post subject: Re: Devices in the Super Powers Companion ---Help please! Reply with quote

BobSagetReturns wrote:
I am very confused.
In the Super Powers Companion, it provides a not so detailed explanation of Devices.
The book says that the Devices(items you can put powers into) are a universal modifier.
This modifier is -1 for every 5 total power points (and part thereof) each power costs after modifiers.
My understanding is that the devices recieve a -1 modifer automatically for every 5 points inveseted into the device.
However, the examples given, read as follows:

Quote:
Figure each type of power the device grants separately—with a minimum cost of 1.
Absorption, which costs 3 points, for example, costs only 2 points if contained in a device.
Armor +6 normally costs 4 points, but costs only 3 if it’s a device (power armor, a vest, and so on).
- Devices, Super Powers Companion, Pinnacle Entertainment Group.


So which one is it?
Do devices get a -1 modifer even if you only use 2 points on one power?
Do they get a -1 modifer just for being on a device?
Or is there something else I'm missing here?
Any help would be great.


The key point here is that it is -1 for 5 PPs and any "part thereof," meaning anything up to 5 total points provides a -1 modifier.

So to simplify, a power costing 2-5 PPs gets a -1 modifier (since 1 PP is the minimum cost, a 1 PP power would be unaffected). A power costing 6-10 PPs gets a -2 modifier, 11-15 gets a -3, and so on.

Hope that clarifies.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum