Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Getting up from Prone and Pushing people into Prone

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
shinryu
Seasoned


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 336

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 1:04 pm    Post subject: Getting up from Prone and Pushing people into Prone Reply with quote

Two interlinked questions:

1) Does getting up from prone (consuming the 2" of movement) count as a "disengagement from melee" and permit a free attack if e.g. someone is stomping on you or wailing on you with a warhammer? It seems like it should do so realistically.

2) If the answer above is "no" (or even if it isn't, actually), is there then any added effect from a Push that knocks someone Prone, or an added effect on a Raise (such as the opponent being Shaken by the Push?) that prevents them getting up immediately? If not, it seems like it's nearly pointless to knock someone Prone as they can get up for free on their next action. So unless you let them act first and hope you get a better card next round or you really, really need to take away that 2" of movement you can't really take advantage of the -2 Parry and Fighting penalty. I assume one could Grapple, then Push, then wail away, but it still significantly diminishes the tactical value of a knockdown.

3) Just to ask for completeness, I'd assume if you're engaged in melee with a prone opponent and you withdraw, he would still get his attack (at a -2 of course)? Or are you no longer considered in melee if he's knocked Prone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17829

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 1:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Getting up from Prone and Pushing people into Prone Reply with quote

shinryu wrote:
1) Does getting up from prone (consuming the 2" of movement) count as a "disengagement from melee" and permit a free attack if e.g. someone is stomping on you or wailing on you with a warhammer?


Nope. The rule pertains to withdrawing from close combat, not "disengagement from melee." As long as the character remains adjacent to their foe, they can move how they wish, including moving around them or just standing up.

shinryu wrote:
2) If the answer above is "no" (or even if it isn't, actually), is there then any added effect from a Push that knocks someone Prone, or an added effect on a Raise (such as the opponent being Shaken by the Push?) that prevents them getting up immediately? If not, it seems like it's nearly pointless to knock someone Prone as they can get up for free on their next action. So unless you let them act first and hope you get a better card next round or you really, really need to take away that 2" of movement you can't really take advantage of the -2 Parry and Fighting penalty. I assume one could Grapple, then Push, then wail away, but it still significantly diminishes the tactical value of a knockdown.


As long as that tactical value is solely based on benefiting the actions of the character performing it instead of perhaps pushing the opponent down to set them up for allies who act before the foe. Interestingly enough, the same basic tactical value of a Trick. Wink

Oh, and also, the foe acting first is going to happen purely because of the way initiative come out in a round, so it isn't always a matter of "letting them act first." Like a Trick, a character with Quick or Level-headed who just happens to get a low initiative one round could try it to set up an opponent for the next round, possibly not just for themselves but allies as well.

shinryu wrote:
3) Just to ask for completeness, I'd assume if you're engaged in melee with a prone opponent and you withdraw, he would still get his attack (at a -2 of course)? Or are you no longer considered in melee if he's knocked Prone?


Again, being Prone does not change that. As long as the foe isn't Shaken, they get the attack (though it may be penalized indeed).
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum