Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How much damage does a Push (Shield Bash) do?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nareau
Novice


Joined: 08 May 2012
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 11:08 am    Post subject: How much damage does a Push (Shield Bash) do? Reply with quote

I decide to mash my enemy into an adjacent wall with a large shield bash. I get lucky and roll a 20 on my Str check, and he only rolls a 2. How much damage did I do? I think it's: 20 (Str damage) +3 (Large shield), then a separate 4d6 (4 raises on my push). Is that correct? Or should the Str+3 damage be rolled separately from the Push roll?

If I had drawn a Joker that round, would I be doing Str+3+2 damage, then 4d6+2 damage?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17738

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:50 pm    Post subject: Re: How much damage does a Push (Shield Bash) do? Reply with quote

nareau wrote:
I decide to mash my enemy into an adjacent wall with a large shield bash. I get lucky and roll a 20 on my Str check, and he only rolls a 2. How much damage did I do? I think it's: 20 (Str damage) +3 (Large shield), then a separate 4d6 (4 raises on my push). Is that correct? Or should the Str+3 damage be rolled separately from the Push roll?


First off, I suggest you either update your PDF or download the errata.

Per the Errata, "“Bash: Push the target 1” for a success and 2” on a raise on the Strength roll. If the defender hits an obstacle, he suffers 1d6 damage for every 1” he would have moved.”

So in the example above, since the character using Push got a raise over the target and the wall was close enough for them to hit, they would suffer a base 2d6 damage for the 2" they would have moved in total (if the wall had not been there).

Since the character used a large shield, he would do Str+3 damage first. The initial Strength roll is not also used as the damage result (since it was a Trait roll not a damage roll); the damage roll is separate.

nareau wrote:
If I had drawn a Joker that round, would I be doing Str+3+2 damage, then 4d6+2 damage?


It would be Str+5 (+3 for the shield and +2 for the joker), and then 2d6+2 if the target also hits an object.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum