Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How can Backlash cause a wound?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MPT
Novice


Joined: 01 Mar 2012
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:27 am    Post subject: How can Backlash cause a wound? Reply with quote

Savage Worlds Deluxe page 103 states...

Quote:
If you roll a 1 on the Spellcasting die (irrespective of the Wild Die) you are Shaken, and this can cause a wound.


... but under what circumstances would a wound be caused? If you are Shaken then you can not cast the spell (as it is not a free action) to cause a Backlash and it is only when you have two Shaken results that a wound is caused.

The only circumstance I can think of is if you can cast two spells in the same action (which I don't think you can do) and the 2nd spell can be cast even if you are Shaken (another impossibility unless some Edge exists that allows this).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18050

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:16 am    Post subject: Re: How can Backlash cause a wound? Reply with quote

MPT wrote:
Savage Worlds Deluxe page 103 states...

Quote:
If you roll a 1 on the Spellcasting die (irrespective of the Wild Die) you are Shaken, and this can cause a wound.


... but under what circumstances would a wound be caused? If you are Shaken then you can not cast the spell (as it is not a free action) to cause a Backlash and it is only when you have two Shaken results that a wound is caused.

The only circumstance I can think of is if you can cast two spells in the same action (which I don't think you can do)...


One power (in the core rulebook) can be cast multiple times as a single action; Bolt.

A mage could roll up to three Spellcasting dice (and one Wild Die) as a single action to cast three bolts. If more than one of the Spellcasting dice comes up a 1, the character would take damage from it.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum