Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 9:14 am Post subject: Re: Drawing a weapon and unslinging shield
Dire Weasel wrote:
If a character wishes to both draw a weapon and unsling a shield, does he need to make an Agility roll to attack in the same round?
He wouldn't have to make an Agility roll "to attack," but based on the GM's decision, at the very least, he would have to make a roll to successfully ready his weapon/weapons.
How it works would depend on whether the GM was willing to define the shield as a "weapon" or not for readying purposes.
If it does count as a weapon, then it would fall under readying two weapons as one action and require an Agility roll as noted in the normal rules for Readying Weapons (pg. 66 of SWD). It would likely require an Agility roll just to ready the shield as a weapon anyway since it would fall under the "large or unwieldy" category.
On the other hand, if the GM determines the shield doesn't count as a weapon, then readying the shield would be a separate action from readying the weapon. An action that pretty clearly would require both hands to perform, meaning the character could not perform any other actions that uses their hands in the same turn. By that decision, it would be impossible to ready a shield and draw a weapon and attack with it in the same round.
Ultimately, the decision on which way to run it would be up to the GM, but the best possible option (counting it as a weapon) would require the Agility roll to ready both items successfully (with a MAP if attempting to attack in the same turn).
Hope that helps. _________________ Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum