Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

[SPC] Starting Power Points for Novice Characters

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Altissimus
Novice


Joined: 24 Mar 2012
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:42 am    Post subject: [SPC] Starting Power Points for Novice Characters Reply with quote

Hi,

Came across this answer:

Quote:
Sannos wrote:
In a SPC Standard (power point option) Common Comic Campaign a starting character get 15 power points because inherent power grants Arcane Background (Super Powers) for 10 power points and super karma grants 5 power points to the character. Then a novice can take the power point edge as one of the beginning Edge to get another 5 power points for a total of 20 power points.

So did I do it correctly?



Quote:
Clint wrote:
Yes, if using the Setting Rules from the Common Comic Campaigns sidebar on page 10, then a character who takes the additional Hindrance from Super Karma and gets the Power Points Edge his one time for Novice would have a total of 20 PPs (10+5+5).


My question:

If you design your own race from the core rule book (mine is the deluxe as I'm led to believe that makes a difference), then can you, in addition to the 20 (10+5+5) Clint mentioned above, ALSO:

1) Add +10pp for one Arcane Background (+2 ability)?
2) Add +5pp for one Arcane Background (+1 ability)?
3) Add BOTH of the above?

Thanks,
A.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18071

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2012 10:54 am    Post subject: Re: [SPC] Starting Power Points for Novice Characters Reply with quote

Altissimus wrote:
If you design your own race from the core rule book (mine is the deluxe as I'm led to believe that makes a difference), then can you, in addition to the 20 (10+5+5) Clint mentioned above, ALSO:

1) Add +10pp for one Arcane Background (+2 ability)?
2) Add +5pp for one Arcane Background (+1 ability)?


Nope. As noted under Races in the SPC <italics added>...

"Other races—undead, constructs, or even aliens from other worlds—are also possible, but you’ll create those with the appropriate superpowers so that you can tailor your race exactly as you see it."

So the Super Powers Companion does not use the Race Creation rules from the core book; races are just a "trapping" for certain powers (and perhaps Hindrances).

Altissimus wrote:
3) Add BOTH of the above?


This can't ever be done as he +5 PP ability states, "cannot be same AB as +2 Ability described above," so no race can every have more than +10 PPs to a specific type of Arcane Background.

Hope that helps and clarifies.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum