Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Poison Question - Related to Deadlands

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
HalifaxDM
Novice


Joined: 22 Jun 2009
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 9:44 am    Post subject: Poison Question - Related to Deadlands Reply with quote

I plan on using Terrantula's in my next Deadlands session and have a few questions about their poison as it relates to SWD.

Under the Terrantula swarm description it's poison states it takes effect only if the character is wounded. SWD states that poison takes effect if the character is shaken or wounded. Should the creature description take precedence?

For the large and gargantuan varieties there is no specific poison effect described save for "Poisonous Bite" with a damage value.

Should the same poison effect of the swarm be used?

Or is the poison considered to be included in the damage value of the bite?

P.S. I apologize if this should have posted in the Deadlands forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17711

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:06 am    Post subject: Re: Poison Question - Related to Deadlands Reply with quote

HalifaxDM wrote:
Under the Terrantula swarm description it's poison states it takes effect only if the character is wounded. SWD states that poison takes effect if the character is shaken or wounded. Should the creature description take precedence?


Specific ability descriptions take precedence over underlying rules, and while I can see the value in checking with the release of SWD, it's no different in this case. So how it's listed is how it works for the Terrantula.

HalifaxDM wrote:
For the large and gargantuan varieties there is no specific poison effect described save for "Poisonous Bite" with a damage value.

Should the same poison effect of the swarm be used?

Or is the poison considered to be included in the damage value of the bite?


The latter is correct. The poison is inherent to the bite (why they add two dice to bite damage instead of the typical one die).

Hope that helps.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum