Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

is there a reason to carry a buckler instead of a rapier?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dugfromthearth
Seasoned


Joined: 11 Jul 2009
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 2:12 pm    Post subject: is there a reason to carry a buckler instead of a rapier? Reply with quote

I don't know that I fully understand the two handed rules.

But a buckler adds +1 parry, a rapier adds +1 parry and weighs less.

It seems that carrying a buckler is foolish - save weight, get the same parry benefit, and carry a rapier in your offhand.

Is there some penalty for carrying a weapon in your offhand if you don't have two-fisted?

Does the parry bonus of the weapon not apply if carried in your offhand?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17983

PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 3:14 pm    Post subject: Re: is there a reason to carry a buckler instead of a rapier Reply with quote

dugfromthearth wrote:
But a buckler adds +1 parry, a rapier adds +1 parry and weighs less.

It seems that carrying a buckler is foolish - save weight, get the same parry benefit, and carry a rapier in your offhand.


As long as...

1. Rapiers exist in the setting (or there is no other setting reason to make bucklers preferable to rapiers).
2. The character doesn't mind spending 6x the price of a buckler to save the weight.
3. The character isn't using another weapon with a Parry bonus (like another rapier) as they don't stack (where the bonus from a buckler would).

dugfromthearth wrote:
Is there some penalty for carrying a weapon in your offhand if you don't have two-fisted?


Other than not being able to use the hand for another action and making it harder to draw two weapons as opposed to one, nothing innately.

dugfromthearth wrote:
Does the parry bonus of the weapon not apply if carried in your offhand?


It does (as long as the character isn't using another weapon with a Parry bonus).
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum