Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

[Classic Deadlands] Can a roll go negative?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Deadlands: The Weird West
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
darkrose50
Novice


Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 12:11 am    Post subject: [Classic Deadlands] Can a roll go negative? Reply with quote

Can the result of a roll go into negative numbers?

I ridiculed an NPC that did not have ridicule (so they would roll 1d6-4), and would gain the best result if he rolled a -2 or lower (and get a chip to boot!). . . can you get a negative result or is 0 or 1 the lowest you can go?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17348

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no provision saying negative values can't occur except the Marshall's discretion.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
oddtail
Seasoned


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 484
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Clint wrote:
There is no provision saying negative values can't occur except the Marshall's discretion.


Since the topic already exists:

how is going bust treated? In some situations the exact number rolled is more important than success or failure (like in Tests of Wills or when playing poker using the simpler rules from Player's Guide). What then?

I usually rule that going bust equals rolling 0, because it's worse than anything else that could happen, but I'm curious what the "official" version is.
_________________
Can't think of anything smart/funny right now, sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17348

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oddtail wrote:
how is going bust treated? In some situations the exact number rolled is more important than success or failure (like in Tests of Wills or when playing poker using the simpler rules from Player's Guide). What then?

I usually rule that going bust equals rolling 0, because it's worse than anything else that could happen, but I'm curious what the "official" version is.


Well, that is pretty much the "official" version. The Marshal determines how bad the results of going bust are on an individual basis. It indicates a "setback" or "catastrophe" of some kind, but the effect is always up to the Marshal's call whether an opposed roll or not.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Deadlands: The Weird West All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum