Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 7:46 am Post subject: Noob Question
Just have a simple question that I can't seem to find an answer to. Does a Wild Card suffer his would penalties to melee damage? I figured it only made sense that he would but my players weren't as certain so I have to seek official sources for my ruling. Thanks for your help.
Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 8:22 am Post subject: Re: Noob Question
Does a Wild Card suffer his would penalties to melee damage?
Nope. Wound penalties apply to Trait rolls (and Pace), and melee damage is not a Trait roll (no Wild Die) even if it is derived from a Trait.
The character is already penalized in his potential to hit at all (the Fighting roll) and the chance to gain bonus damage from a raise, so his overall "damage" is reduced; there's no need to penalize him twice for the same thing. That's one of the reasons wound penalties don't apply to any derived stat or effect.
Hope that helps. _________________ Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum