Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Raising the Pot and Initiative

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Deadlands: The Weird West
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Lord Ben
Seasoned


Joined: 18 Aug 2005
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2008 2:29 am    Post subject: Raising the Pot and Initiative Reply with quote

So if you roll Init and get 3 cards you can discard the highest one and use raising the pot to get several more init cards right away instead of waiting for your turn? YIKES!

A harrowed PC in the group has this and gets like 12 cards and can probably get straights/flushes pretty easily.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thepilk
Novice


Joined: 01 Aug 2007
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2008 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i dont think that works.

because you dont "have" the action card to activate RtP with until the initive roll actually resolves, unless you had a sleeved card from the previous round.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cthulhu
Seasoned


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 5:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thepilk wrote:
because you dont "have" the action card to activate RtP with until the initive roll actually resolves, unless you had a sleeved card from the previous round.


Don't forget that the Initiative roll resolves before the Raisin' The Pot! vamoose action (as per the rules for Raisin' the Pot?). So yes...you do have action cards available.

1. Roll initiative.
1a. Collect cards.
1b. Initiative roll now complete.

2. You now have the option to immediately vamoose to Raisin' the Pot!.
2a. Do you have a action card to vamoose with? Yes due to Step 1.
2b. Cast the hex and apply the raises. You may or may not get extra action cards out of this.

3. Continue with the rest of the combat turn.

Anyway...thats the theory behind it. Raisin' the Pot! follows right behind the step where initiative cards are gathered.

And yeah...I'm the player LordBen is talkin' about.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cthulhu
Seasoned


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 5:46 am    Post subject: Re: Raising the Pot and Initiative Reply with quote

Lord Ben wrote:
A harrowed PC in the group has this and gets like 12 cards and can probably get straights/flushes pretty easily.


Not THAT easily! Smile

Luck O' The Draw requires an action to prep as well. So there are going to be a lot of times when I won't have all those extra hexslingin' cards available.

Not to mention that Raisin' The Pot! is nowhere near as reliable a means to get extra action cards as...say...Unholy Reflexes. Your spending an action card and gambling the odds will turn up in your favor with two or more action cards in return. Its risky and can be flubbed badly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oddtail
Seasoned


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 484
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2008 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cthulhu: um, I think your interpretation is utterly wrong. When you roll, you have the option to improve your roll. If you don't, and then draw cards, it's too late to improve the roll. Just like you can't spend Fate Chips on a Shootin' roll after you've rolled hit location.

In other words, nothing can happen after the roll if you decide to improve the roll.

And my take on things is that you can't even Vamoose to improve the Quickness roll, even IF you have a sleeve card from the previous turn. The roll takes place outside of the normal action sequence - there's a reason it doesn't require a card. You Vamoose in response to something that *happens* - so, takes place on a certain card. You can't Vamoose to improve your Quickness roll because it takes place at the very beginning of the round, before the Ace of Spades even. Heck, before the Jokers, even.

So, no.
_________________
Can't think of anything smart/funny right now, sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18190

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oddtail would be correct.

Raisin' the Pot must be used before the results of the initial roll are resolved because using Raisin' the Pot can itself cause the initial roll to fail. You can't use the result of a roll to activate a hex that might make the roll itself fail.

Plus, as he noted, Vamoosin' specifically states that it must be used before the results are resolved. And since it's impossible to use an action during the resolution of initiative which determines actions, Raisin' the Pot can never be used with the initiative roll. This is why there is a specific hex to gain additional action cards, Draw!

Even if the Marshal did allow Raisin' the Pot to work on the Quickness roll, it wouldn't change the basic rule that a character can't have more than 5 action cards in a round. As has been covered before, magical or harrowed effects that adjust Quickness in any way do not change the maximum number of actions. Only abilities that specifically add actions do that.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Last edited by Clint on Thu Nov 19, 2009 9:05 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Lord Ben
Seasoned


Joined: 18 Aug 2005
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That makes sense, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cthulhu
Seasoned


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Clint.

Heh...that line of logic was used on me many moons ago in one of my own games. Went with it and it never did any harm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Floyd Yoder
Novice


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 40
Location: Seaside, Ca

PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So really the only way you can use raisin the pot on a quickness roll would be if you were a tempest, right? As it is you roll, spend a chip on the power, and then resolve.
_________________
They can't really hear us if they're dead, so what's the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18190

PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Floyd Yoder wrote:
So really the only way you can use raisin the pot on a quickness roll would be if you were a tempest, right? As it is you roll, spend a chip on the power, and then resolve.


Sorry, but nope. Tempest powers still have the same speed as the hex they use regardless of the difference in how they are activated, and so the same reason Raisin' the Pot can never be used for initiative rolls noted above still applies.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Deadlands: The Weird West All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum