Posted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 7:17 am Post subject: off hand magic
i made a char with a good fighting-skill and arcane bg(miracles).
in combat, i tried to kill someone with my longsword (in my main hand) and i tried casting 'burst' (with my off hand).
what penalties do i get on the faith-roll?
1) -2, only Multi action penalty
2) -4, multi action penalty and off hand penalty
Posted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 7:39 am Post subject: Re: off hand magic
Well, that's really up to the setting rules and trappings for how magic is cast; the core rules don't have any requirement that casters must use their hands or speak or anything other than make their Arcane Skill roll in order to activate a power.
If the GM decides that hands are needed to cast, then the decision has to be made whether it is one hand or both and so on.
But generally, the off-hand penalty applies to any action attempted with the off-hand, not just attack rolls. A character who attempts to pick a lock with their off-hand suffers the -2 penalty as well, so if an Arcane Skill requires the use of a hand, then unless the GM says otherwise, the basic rules would apply, including the off-hand penalty to casting.
Hope that helps. _________________ Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum