Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

[Classic:HoE] Damocles Soldier Clarification

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Deadlands: Hell on Earth & Lost Colony
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Poll added for archive purposes
To Damocles
100%
 100%  [ 5 ]
Or not to Damocles
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Total Votes : 5

Author Message
Tank
Novice


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 73
Location: St. Louis, MO

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:38 am    Post subject: [Classic:HoE] Damocles Soldier Clarification Reply with quote

1. Operation Damocles soldiers get Background: Soldier for free w/a SF concentration. This implies that they are also subject to the two card draw off of the Soldier table. However, the Damocles soldiers were screened very thoroughly so they should have no missing limbs, both eyes, no psychosis, etc. Do Damocles soldiers ignore the table?


2. Damocles soldiers are all Special Forces? Could the players choose a different MOS? I'm sure this could be a Marshal call, but I wouldn't mind a ruling or general consensus.


3. The popsicles get to "add three free levels" to their starting soldier aptitudes. Is this three to each aptitude in the MOS or three points to distribute? E.g. Waster Joe gets Shootin': Any 3+3 more and it's done, or Shootin': Any 3+3 and then +3 to all of the other aptitudes on the list?


3b. As an afterthought to the previous question: Once a soldier of this nature takes Rank, and has a MOS that gives free ranks in the Leadership or Professional: Military aptitude, do the free points given per Rank point apply to the cap imposed by 5+Rank=Max? Or could the soldier end up with an 11 in Leadership due to Base 2+5+Rank 4?


4. As a freebie, they gain belongin's. Do these belongin's points count as double with their rank?


5. Can a Damocles soldier also be a Super Soldier, Earth Syker, Cyborg, or traditional Harrowed? The edge states that they cannot have an Arcane Background, though I don't see why the government wouldn't put a Cyborg or Syker on ice for supernatural support. Would Cyborgs that may have been iced down and deactivated have any RoE's, or would they get off scott free?


6. Why in the hell would they have Doubting Thomas if they were SF? I understand that throughout the Deadlands history, the worlds powers have tried to keep a lot under wraps, but come on, seriously! They HAVE Academia: Occult for cryin' out loud!

That's all I have for now...
_________________
Boot o' Doom!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Magog777
Novice


Joined: 15 May 2005
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The way I explained Doubting Thomas is that they, for a time, will have problem dealing with the fact that they have awakened to a strange new world 9 years later. they may think they are dreaming..
you have to make them pay for the edges good stuff somehow. there is an errata on the 1st question somewhere that says they do not have the card draw.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MadDog
Novice


Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 8:25 pm    Post subject: errata ? Reply with quote

Where is the errata for Waste Warriors ?

thanks,

Mad Dog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Edivdrone
Seasoned


Joined: 22 Sep 2007
Posts: 233
Location: New England

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. The Operation Damocles Background does not have to draw as specified in the Denver source book at the start of chapter 2.

2. Operation Damocles was a SpecFor team assembled from members of the other teams; while remotely possible that a hot shot with another MOS might have gotten in if HQ thought (s)he was worth it, the player had better have one very good story/reason to back it up. The U.S. isn't too swayed by "But I wanna!"

3. 3 discretionary points total; anything more would be ludicrous. The background is crazy enough as it is!

3b. I would say 5+Rank equals max.

4. As spelled out in the Background:Soldier Edge, a number of Belongin's points equal to the Rank edge are doubled:
Effective Belongin's=Belongin's+Rank. (Rank can not be greater than Belongin's.)

5. Super Soldier maybe, that's your call. Remember though, that SpecFor is valued at least as much for their ability to think on their feet and adapt the plan to reality to achieve the end goal, as they are for their ability to blow things up. The rest; NO. They weren't particularly well trusted by the suits (esp. the Cyborgs), and were needed on the front lines NOW. If you're feeling generous, maybe Greenie or one the Wasted West AB's once they get over Doubting Thomas. Speaking of which...

6. Read the template. World blown up? Yup, that matches the mission. Nutjobs that take junk from the wastes and talk nice to it to get it to work? People who think they're from King Arthur's Court on a Crusade to save the world?! Throckmorton wants to conquer the world with an army of evil robots!?!? Whackos slinging radiation magic?!!?
!?!????!!!?!!?!?!!? It isn't the history, it's the oddball events they missed that seem so unlikely. That's because they are if you step back and think about it. Granted, most of them will(and should) probably buy it off pretty fast, but it could be good for a few laughs and chips before they do.
_________________
I can do all things through Christ who stengthens me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tank
Novice


Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 73
Location: St. Louis, MO

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I'll give you the bit on Doubtin' Thomas. I'll even conceed the belongin's & the aptitudes. I hadn't realized there was anything in the Denver book, but luckily I have it so I'll give it a look.

I do not see, however, why they wouldn't freeze a syker or cyborg. Agency Infiltrators are pretty handy and were given quite a bit of responsibility, and SF teams usually had one in their ranks.
_________________
Boot o' Doom!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JackAce
Legendary


Joined: 21 Feb 2006
Posts: 3416
Location: 53°04'N 8°53'E

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 6:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tank wrote:
I do not see, however, why they wouldn't freeze a syker or cyborg. Agency Infiltrators are pretty handy and were given quite a bit of responsibility, and SF teams usually had one in their ranks.

The Damocles Soldiers were supposed to act as responsible leaders of the new civilisation after the apocalypse. Cyborgs, Sykers and any other type of "special effects" troops were seen by High Command as somewhat loose cannons - pure engines of destruction. They were of great use during the war (which means you wouldn't want to "loose" any of them to a project like Damocles) but they're not really the type of people High Command would like to see in charge of the Future of Mankind™.
_________________
Please Click:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The One
Heroic


Joined: 14 May 2003
Posts: 1311

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 5:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The other way to look at it, from a game design point of view stacking the Damocles edge on top of a syker or cyborg gives the character a LOT more power than is reasonable.

From a game world point of view, the others are right when it comes to saying the generals wouldn't want to leave valuable resources like sykers or cyborgs inactive as towards the end they were the only infantry capable of surviving on the battlefield.

However, if perhaps you're asking how to include a cyborg or syker in an Opperation Damocles game, well there's a couple of likely backstory's as to why. For one, they could have known of the bunker through rumours in the barracks and taken shelter there only to be caught up by some automatic seals or something. Alternatively they could discover records of the team and deliberately sought them out (if it's an infiltrator cyborg maybe he can impersonate their immediate CO)
_________________
Life: Past trends are not an indication of future performance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Mort
Heroic


Joined: 14 May 2003
Posts: 1352
Location: Dublin, Ireland

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alternatively, allow a psyker or cyborg in the squad, but they don't get the "Damocles" edge due to their more specialised training.

As long as they have appropriate hinderances - it shouldn't be too much of a stretch.
_________________
"Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Teller
Seasoned


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 316
Location: Post-apocalyptic America

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2007 10:53 pm    Post subject: Re: [Classic:HoE] Damocles Soldier Clarification Reply with quote

Wow--I wish someone would archive this. I've answered this about 100 times. My fault for being so vague in the initial write-up. Here goes (from the author--take it or leave it as to it's official-ness):

Tank wrote:
1. Operation Damocles soldiers get Background: Soldier for free w/a SF concentration. This implies that they are also subject to the two card draw off of the Soldier table. However, the Damocles soldiers were screened very thoroughly so they should have no missing limbs, both eyes, no psychosis, etc. Do Damocles soldiers ignore the table?


From Denver, Chapter 2:
As noted in Waste Warriors, members of Operation Damocles have the Soldier background with a concentration in Special Forces, which would normally cause the poor brainer to draw two cards on the Soldier Background Table. Normally a typical Special Forces soldier will be pretty battered and beaten at the time of most current Hell on Earth campaigns. Operation Damocles soldiers were chosen for a special mission, and only healthy physical specimens were chosen for a mission of this magnitude. The upshot of this is posse members with the Background: Operation Damocles Soldier get the benefits of being an experienced soldier without drawing on the Soldier Background Table.

Tank wrote:
2. Damocles soldiers are all Special Forces? Could the players choose a different MOS? I'm sure this could be a Marshal call, but I wouldn't mind a ruling or general consensus.

Since the primary mission of SF Soldiers is to help indigenous forces build themselves up, SF types were chosen exclusively, since this fit their training and attitudes perfectly.

Tank wrote:
3. The popsicles get to "add three free levels" to their starting soldier aptitudes. Is this three to each aptitude in the MOS or three points to distribute? E.g. Waster Joe gets Shootin': Any 3+3 more and it's done, or Shootin': Any 3+3 and then +3 to all of the other aptitudes on the list?


A total of three to spend among your aptitudes.


Tank wrote:
3b. As an afterthought to the previous question: Once a soldier of this nature takes Rank, and has a MOS that gives free ranks in the Leadership or Professional: Military aptitude, do the free points given per Rank point apply to the cap imposed by 5+Rank=Max? Or could the soldier end up with an 11 in Leadership due to Base 2+5+Rank 4?


Here goes a long answer...Well, only officers get leadership with their rank, and the highest rank you can take is 3 (with a corresponding drop in each starting SF-specific skill. As stated in the Soldier background "Her service entitles her to buy military related Aptitudes (Marshal’s call as to an Aptitude’s relatedness) up to a level equal to 5 plus their rank at no additional cost (level 6 costs 6 points)", so you could get your rank up to 8 at no additional cost, then the extra cost to buy such high skills kicks in.

Tank wrote:
4. As a freebie, they gain belongin's. Do these belongin's points count as double with their rank?


No, they get belongin's 5. That's plenty of equipment for any rank. And nothing says it has to be there in the same bunker with them. Equipment stocks were scattered across their projected area of operations. In my campaign each team had a standard equipment list that was prescribed with an eye towards local conditions. They started with their basic load and vehicles, and then had GPS coordinates to each of their equipment caches. Unfortunately, the GPS satellites were the first to get blown out of the sky.

Tank wrote:
5. Can a Damocles soldier also be a Super Soldier, Earth Syker, Cyborg, or traditional Harrowed? The edge states that they cannot have an Arcane Background, though I don't see why the government wouldn't put a Cyborg or Syker on ice for supernatural support. Would Cyborgs that may have been iced down and deactivated have any RoE's, or would they get off scott free?


As stated several times in the text, no ABs allowed. Othere have all mentioned good reasons in this thread, but it's your campaign, so whatever you say ultimately goes. The HoE official rules posses that went to people's houses and "fixed" campaigns that strayed have been long disbanded. Twisted Evil

Tank wrote:
6. Why in the hell would they have Doubting Thomas if they were SF? I understand that throughout the Deadlands history, the worlds powers have tried to keep a lot under wraps, but come on, seriously! They HAVE Academia: Occult for cryin' out loud!


Again, this was nicely answered above. It is a pretty weird world compared to what they left (to put it lightly).



Hope this helps. Love to see the continuing interest in Classic HoE.
_________________
Teller
Hell on Earth Brand manager
Weird Wars Brand manager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Deadlands: Hell on Earth & Lost Colony All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum