Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Interrupting an Action

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cpk666
Veteran


Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 806
Location: Atlanta West, GA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 7:56 am    Post subject: Interrupting an Action Reply with quote

Example: Jack moves down a hall and into a room, intent on attacking Bob, who is standing in the center of the room. However, Bill is hiding next to the door, waiting to shoot Jack when he enters. Jack loses the Agility roll and Bill shoots him, but only shakes him.

Does Jack get to roll to unshake now, or does he have to wait to the beginning of his next turn? What if he had been performing multiple actions, and was interrupted two or more actions into his turn?

CK
_________________
Since this is my post, please understand that the thoughts expressed in it are my opinion.

"Tact is just not saying true stuff. I'll pass."--Cordelia Chase


Last edited by cpk666 on Thu Jan 04, 2007 3:14 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17375

PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 3:13 pm    Post subject: Re: Interrupting an Action Reply with quote

cpk666 wrote:
Example: Jack moves down a hall and into a room, intent on attacking Bob, who is standing in the center of the room. However, Bill is hiding next to the door, waitng to shoot Jack when he enters. Jack loses the Agility roll, and Bill shoots him, but only shakes him.

Does Jack get to roll to unshake now, or does he have to wait to the beginning of his next turn?


If the character is interrupted and Shaken before taking his normal action (as opposed to a Free Action like movement), he would use that action to attempt to recover from being Shaken.

cpk666 wrote:
What if he had been performing multiple actions, and was interrupted two or more actions into his turn?


Can't happen normally. Multiple actions occur "almost simultaneously" (page 59, SWR) even if out of game the effects are determined and applied in sequence. The character is thus interrupted before he attempts his normal action entirely (no matter how many multiple actions are involved in that one action), or he gets to perform them all.

Exceptions can happen, and it's usually apparent or up to the GM's call. For instance, a character who needs to run (an action) to get to an opponent to make a Fighting attack or get into a certain range before making a ranged attack (a second action) is obviously acting in sequence.

When such a character is interrupted and Shaken, they have already performed at least one action, so they don't get another to recover until the next round.

Still, barring running, such instances would be very rare. The only other example I can think of would be to interrupt between drawing a weapon and attacking with it. Even then, it would typically be better to interrupt before the character even has the chance to draw the weapon.

Hope this helps.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum