Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Various Questions

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
R2Keen2
Novice


Joined: 18 Jul 2006
Posts: 36
Location: Burnt-Over District

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't find anything about multiple skill attempts. Are you able to try multiple times even after a failure. If your Lockpicking is at d8 and you end up rolling double 2s or something else insufficent(but odds say you could do better or it wasn't one of your best[being the size of your die] attempts), would you get a sense that you might be able to do better if you try again, or does the character just automaticly believe the lock is beyond his ability?

Base Movement is a free action, if a character is on hold, does that mean he is more or less rooted to the spot or can he move even just one inch and be on hold.. or take the movement and return to hold?

The rules for leaving combat seems kind of out of place with the lack of anything similar on the subject.. If the character is fighting two people but moves around one, which distances himself from the other he's left combat with one of them but not technicly left combat. Does the movement call a attack from one, both or neither?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17711

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

R2Keen2 wrote:
I can't find anything about multiple skill attempts. Are you able to try multiple times even after a failure. If your Lockpicking is at d8 and you end up rolling double 2s or something else insufficent(but odds say you could do better or it wasn't one of your best[being the size of your die] attempts), would you get a sense that you might be able to do better if you try again, or does the character just automaticly believe the lock is beyond his ability?


Nothing generally prevents multiple attempts except perhaps the consequences of failure. In other words, if the character needs to pick the lock before the guard comes around the corner on the next round, then that's a consequence of failure. Also, the GM could disallow additional attempts as the result of a critical failure, but that's a judgement call.

Typically the only limitation on multiple attempts would be the time required to retry.


R2Keen2 wrote:
Base Movement is a free action, if a character is on hold, does that mean he is more or less rooted to the spot or can he move even just one inch and be on hold.. or take the movement and return to hold?


A character on Hold is holding his entire action. Until they choose to act, they can't perform any action (even free ones such as movement), and at that point they resolve all of their actions.


R2Keen2 wrote:
The rules for leaving combat seems kind of out of place with the lack of anything similar on the subject.. If the character is fighting two people but moves around one, which distances himself from the other he's left combat with one of them but not technicly left combat. Does the movement call a attack from one, both or neither?


Basically, it all comes down to this...

Whomever the character leaves melee combat with, gets a free attack.

So if fighting two opponents and the character moves out of melee with one of them, that one gets a free attack but not the other.

Hope this helps. If something isn't clear, just let me know.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum