Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Size and Grappling

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gammon23
Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2012
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 8:44 pm    Post subject: Size and Grappling Reply with quote

The rules state that a huge creature takes a -4 penalty to attack a standard size creature while a standard sized creature would get + 4 versus a huge size creature. So if a dragon attempted to grapple a standard sized creature it would take a penalty on its opposed fighting roll, while the creature it is trying to grapple would get a bonus on its opposed fighting roll, to avoid being grappled? So it is as though the dragon would be at a -8 penalty to start a grapple?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17748

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:55 pm    Post subject: Re: Size and Grappling Reply with quote

Gammon23 wrote:
The rules state that a huge creature takes a -4 penalty to attack a standard size creature while a standard sized creature would get + 4 versus a huge size creature. So if a dragon attempted to grapple a standard sized creature it would take a penalty on its opposed fighting roll, while the creature it is trying to grapple would get a bonus on its opposed fighting roll, to avoid being grappled? So it is as though the dragon would be at a -8 penalty to start a grapple?


Nope, the bonus/penalty only applies to actual attacks not all uses of combat skills such as resisting an opposed roll.

So the dragon is making the roll to attack, so it does suffer the penalty, but the target is not attacking the dragon, they are making a roll resist an attack, and they do not get the bonus.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum