Can you stack successive 'Scholar' edges to the same 2 Knowledge Skills so as to get a +4 with each (and +6 w/ 3 edges stacked, and so on...) or do you have to pick 2 other Knowledges to apply a 2nd Scholar edge to...? _________________ There is no problem in this Universe that can't be solved with the application of roasted porcine flesh...
Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:03 am Post subject: Re: Stacking 'Scholar'
Can you stack successive 'Scholar' edges to the same 2 Knowledge Skills so as to get a +4 with each (and +6 w/ 3 edges stacked, and so on...) or do you have to pick 2 other Knowledges to apply a 2nd Scholar edge to...?
Short version; nope, it's not possible.
Long version; first and most importantly, the Edge never states it can be taken more than once, and as noted in the introduction to Edges, "Unless an Edge specifically says otherwise, it may only be selected once." Scholars get to be an expert in two fields; they should be chosen carefully.
Secondly, even if it is allowed to take the Edge more than once, stacking Professional Edges is covered in the introduction to that type, stating, "Stacking: Bonuses to the same Trait from different Professional Edges do not stack."
And since that reference does expect that those Edges can't be taken more than once (thus they would have to be "different"), it would also apply to the same Edge taken more than once as that would be a different instance of that Edge. _________________ Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum