Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Question on Dispel Power and Chases

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Volt875
Seasoned


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2012 9:35 am    Post subject: Question on Dispel Power and Chases Reply with quote

Hello once again people at Pinnacle. Just one question this time.

When you use the dispel power to block another arcane character's power is that it's own sperate roll or does the person being blocked roll count as their spellcasting roll for the power they are trying to use? If that is the case does that mean with the bolt spell, dispel can only block one bolt?

Another question that came to mind right now: If your force your opponent and get a raise, the opponent is affected as if he hit an obstacle. I wondered if you mean a minor or a major obstacle or if it's determined by his card just like if it were of clubs suit.



#gunbattle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17370

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Question on Dispel Power and Chases Reply with quote

Volt875 wrote:
Hello once again people at Pinnacle. Just one question this time.


Or two. Wink

Volt875 wrote:
When you use the dispel power to block another arcane character's power is that it's own sperate roll or does the person being blocked roll count as their spellcasting roll for the power they are trying to use? If that is the case does that mean with the bolt spell, dispel can only block one bolt?


The character using dispel interrupts the target before they cast, so in effect, the result of the dispel check becomes their TN to activate their power.

Since even casting multiple bolts is a single action, they would all be subject to that dispel result. The caster would have up to three chances to bypass the dispel result but they all face that TN.

For example, if Caster A interrupts Caster B and rolls a 9 on his Dispel, then Caster B activates three Bolts, he rolls three Arcane Skill dice (and one Wild Die if a Wild Card). He has to get a 9 to successfully activate any of his bolts.

Volt875 wrote:
Another question that came to mind right now: If your force your opponent and get a raise, the opponent is affected as if he hit an obstacle. I wondered if you mean a minor or a major obstacle or if it's determined by his card just like if it were of clubs suit.


It doesn't matter if it's a major or minor obstacle. The only difference between them is the modifier to avoid the obstacle if it comes up randomly, where the raise on the Force roll has already caused them to hit the obstacle. The actual effect of hitting an obstacle is the same for both the major and minor results.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum