Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Multiple Actions and Wildcard Die

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dracox
Novice


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:05 pm    Post subject: Multiple Actions and Wildcard Die Reply with quote

I think I've been running the whole wildcard die with multiple actions wrong, but at least I've been consistent and running my "baddies" the same way.

If I NOW understand the rules if a character has a gun in each hand (or a knife or whatever) and does an attack with both, each of his attack rolls suffers a -2 to hit (I'm leaving out any edges that might help with the penalty) AND he gets a wildcard die (d6) with each attack (TWO extra d6 wildcard die)...??? Each result is then calculated with the final sum suffering a -2.

In another example lets say not only does this guy want to fire both of his guns (semi-autos) but he wants to taunt as well (another action). This would be a total of 3 actions thus applying a -6(!!!) to each roll for each "action." However, when he rolls the taunt at -6 he gets his WC die. Then when he rolls one attack at -6 he gets another WC die. Then with the final attack (same as the previous but with a different gun/hand) he gets the -6 AND a WC die.

Do I have this right or is it ONE WC die that can replace a failed/lower roll of one of the rolls?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17348

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 12:58 pm    Post subject: Re: Multiple Actions and Wildcard Die Reply with quote

dracox wrote:
If I NOW understand the rules if a character has a gun in each hand (or a knife or whatever) and does an attack with both, each of his attack rolls suffers a -2 to hit (I'm leaving out any edges that might help with the penalty) AND he gets a wildcard die (d6) with each attack (TWO extra d6 wildcard die)...??? Each result is then calculated with the final sum suffering a -2.


Close, but if ignoring any Edges to remove penalties, then one of the two attacks will also suffer the -2 penalty for using the offhand.

So one attack is rolled as one Trait die and one Wild die with a -2 penalty (for the main hand). And the other attack is rolled as one Trait die and one Wild Die with a -4 penalty (for the offhand).

The Wild Dice can only replace the Trait die they are rolled with.

dracox wrote:
In another example lets say not only does this guy want to fire both of his guns (semi-autos) but he wants to taunt as well (another action). This would be a total of 3 actions thus applying a -6(!!!) to each roll for each "action." However, when he rolls the taunt at -6 he gets his WC die. Then when he rolls one attack at -6 he gets another WC die. Then with the final attack (same as the previous but with a different gun/hand) he gets the -6 AND a WC die.


Actually, 3 actions would be a -4 not -6. It's -2 per additional action after the first.

So he would be -4 to one attack, -4 to the Taunt, and -6 to the attack with the offhand. Again, with each rolled as a separate action.

dracox wrote:
Do I have this right or is it ONE WC die that can replace a failed/lower roll of one of the rolls?


Basically, you have it correct. Exceptions are noted where multiple attacks count as one action and only get one Wild Die (frenzy, autofire, multiple bolts...).
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum