Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Does Fast Target penalty apply to both combatants?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pcrh
Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 1:12 pm    Post subject: Does Fast Target penalty apply to both combatants? Reply with quote

The Fast Target penalty (p.100 deluxe ed.) says someone trying to shoot a fast moving target is at -1 per 10" movement.

This clearly applies to a stationary shooter who shoots at a jetpack jockey who flies by at 10" move. But if the jetpack jockey also shoots at the stationary target while the jetpack jockey is moving at 10", does the jetpack jockey also suffer the Fast Target penalty (in addition to the unstable platform penalty)?

My answer would be "yes" both parties suffer the Fast Target penalty--both are moving relative to one another. Both would have to "lead" their target. There should be no difference (aside from the unstable platform) on the penalties suffered by two parties shooting at each other, moving relative to one another.

Can someone clarify? Many thanks!

pcrh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17741

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:14 am    Post subject: Re: Does Fast Target penalty apply to both combatants? Reply with quote

pcrh wrote:
The Fast Target penalty (p.100 deluxe ed.) says someone trying to shoot a fast moving target is at -1 per 10" movement.

This clearly applies to a stationary shooter who shoots at a jetpack jockey who flies by at 10" move. But if the jetpack jockey also shoots at the stationary target while the jetpack jockey is moving at 10", does the jetpack jockey also suffer the Fast Target penalty (in addition to the unstable platform penalty)?

My answer would be "yes" both parties suffer the Fast Target penalty--both are moving relative to one another. Both would have to "lead" their target. There should be no difference (aside from the unstable platform) on the penalties suffered by two parties shooting at each other, moving relative to one another.

Can someone clarify?


Well, a jetpack isn't exactly a core rules "vehicle," but as the rule says, "This is relative, so a vehicle heading directly toward a character doesn’t get the modifier..." So there in the first example of it being relative, it's a case of a vehicle moving towards a character and it not suffering the penalty because it is moving directly at him. Meaning if it was not moving directly at him, it would suffer the penalty for its own movement.

So yeah, if a character in a vehicle is driving past a stationary target at a speed of 15", then that's the speed relative to each other for both.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum