Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Multiple powers, same device for Mad Scientists

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
shinryu
Seasoned


Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 336

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2012 12:34 pm    Post subject: Multiple powers, same device for Mad Scientists Reply with quote

I'm certain this has come up but I wasn't able to find it anywhere: if a Mad Scientist has a single device that performs multiple Powers, do the powers pool their effective Power Points or are they always drawing from multiple pools?

e.g. If Dr. Hudson, with 10 PP, builds a sonic-electronic ballbreaker with "stun" (Stun) and Kill (Burst) settings, would the device have an effective Power Point pool of 20 for either power to use, or would each power have its own 10 point pool?

I could see circumstances where this makes a lot of sense to me: assuming use of the powers is mutually exclusive and a breakdown for either power knocks out both, and since the character can't two-fist both powers at once or share the devices around, it seems fair from a balance prespective. Also, they're variable settings of the same device, so from a flavor perspective it makes a lot of sense. On the other hand, it's (sort of) a cheap way to double the shots available for a given power and while I'm not sure it's the most efficient use of your slot to strap two powers together I could see the potential for some situations where it might be a poor idea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18066

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2012 2:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Multiple powers, same device for Mad Scientists Reply with quote

shinryu wrote:
I'm certain this has come up but I wasn't able to find it anywhere: if a Mad Scientist has a single device that performs multiple Powers, do the powers pool their effective Power Points or are they always drawing from multiple pools?


Hasn't come up because there is no actual rule in the book that says it can be done. It could perhaps exist as a trapping, which means how it would work would depend entirely on the GM's call based on the specific setting and other factors. There are no "official answers" for individualized trappings other than that.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum