Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The Multiple Languages Rule and the Linguist Edge

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TheCapedCrusader
Novice


Joined: 01 Aug 2009
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 10:45 pm    Post subject: The Multiple Languages Rule and the Linguist Edge Reply with quote

I am curious how to handle these two together.

In a game without Multiple Languages, a person with a Smarts d8 gets 8 languages for taking the Linguist edge.

In a game where the Multiple Languages rule is in play, the same hero already gets 5 languages (native language + half Smarts) to begin with. If they add the Linguist Edge, do they get 3 more languages to bring it to 8, or do they get 8 additional languages?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17729

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 8:45 am    Post subject: Re: The Multiple Languages Rule and the Linguist Edge Reply with quote

TheCapedCrusader wrote:
I am curious how to handle these two together.

In a game without Multiple Languages, a person with a Smarts d8 gets 8 languages for taking the Linguist edge.

In a game where the Multiple Languages rule is in play, the same hero already gets 5 languages (native language + half Smarts) to begin with. If they add the Linguist Edge, do they get 3 more languages to bring it to 8, or do they get 8 additional languages?


Well, actually, they would get 4 more languages. In both sets of rules, characters get their native language for free. Multiple Languages allows for additional languages equal to half Smarts and Linguist allows for additional languages equal to Smarts.

So a character with a d8 Smarts would get 4 additional languages for free and 4 more if they had Linguist.

But whether the Edge is allowed or works the same is going to be up to the GM. Using the Setting Rules examples can alter or even negate certain Edges (like No Mercy when using Bood & Guts or Wizard when using No Power Points).

The Linguist Edge could be used as is with the Multiple Languages rule as it would double the number of additional Languages in addition to providing the ability to potentially communicate in unknown languages as well, but the final decision would be up to the GM.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum