Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Arcane Background: Backlash on a roll on 1?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ironfort
Novice


Joined: 07 Dec 2009
Posts: 44
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 4:09 am    Post subject: Arcane Background: Backlash on a roll on 1? Reply with quote

No answer on SE.RPG hope Clint can help?

http://rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/9071/arcane-background-backlash-on-a-roll-on-1

A lot of the Arcane Backgrounds something happens on a roll of '1' on your Spellcasting die. I originally read this to mean that only if your total was a natural '1' on your skill die, i.e. your first roll was a natural '1' then the bad stuff happens.

I heard that at least one other referee takes this to mean, a '1' even if you rolled it on an Ace. For example, say you have Spellcasting d8 and you rolled 8,8,1 then yes you get a success and 3 raises but you also get a backlash.

Is this how it is meant to be?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17979

PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 11:02 am    Post subject: Re: Arcane Background: Backlash on a roll on 1? Reply with quote

ironfort wrote:
A lot of the Arcane Backgrounds something happens on a roll of '1' on your Spellcasting die. I originally read this to mean that only if your total was a natural '1' on your skill die, i.e. your first roll was a natural '1' then the bad stuff happens.

I heard that at least one other referee takes this to mean, a '1' even if you rolled it on an Ace. For example, say you have Spellcasting d8 and you rolled 8,8,1 then yes you get a success and 3 raises but you also get a backlash.

Is this how it is meant to be?


Nope. It's if the player rolls a natural 1 on the Trait die, not if he rolls a "natural 17" even if a 1 is involved. Wink
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum