Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Edges and Losing Prereqs

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TTM
Novice


Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 5:55 pm    Post subject: Edges and Losing Prereqs Reply with quote

I know this has been asked before but I can't seem to find the answer:

If a character has an edge that requires a prerequisite, e.g. Nerves of Steel (Vigor dCool and loses the prerequisite, say, from a crippling injury or the Lower Trait power, does he lose the effect of the edge until his Vigor comes back?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17332

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 8:56 am    Post subject: Re: Edges and Losing Prereqs Reply with quote

TTM wrote:
If a character has an edge that requires a prerequisite, e.g. Nerves of Steel (Vigor dCool and loses the prerequisite, say, from a crippling injury or the Lower Trait power, does he lose the effect of the edge until his Vigor comes back?


Nope. He still has the Edge and its effects.

Note however that Edges which require another Edge also have a cascade effect to require all the Requirements for the earlier Edge as well. So a character who loses a Requirement could keep an Edge's effect but not be able to take future Edges with it as a Requirement without regaining the lost one.

For instance, if the character's Vigor was reduced to d6 and they had Nerves of Steel, they would retain the Edge's effect. But if the character then desired to take Improved Nerves of Steel, he would have to raise his Vigor back to a d8 to do so since Imp-NoS has Nerves of Steel as a Requirement which cascades to mean it also requires all of that Edge's Requirements including the d8 Vigor.

Hope that makes sense.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum