Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Double Weapons

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> SW General Chat & Game Stories
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sunwolf
Seasoned


Joined: 22 Jul 2006
Posts: 201
Location: Pinellas Park, Fl.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:31 pm    Post subject: Double Weapons Reply with quote

like Darth Maul's lightsaber.

Double bladed swords, or even just a staff. How would it work?

I really don't see it being all that different from using a regular weapon, except maybe you could use Edges like Florentine or Sweep. Effective against multiple opponents, but no advantage against just one.

Thoughts?
_________________
First rule of SW conversions: Convert the Setting, not the rules.

Second rule, don't forget the trappings

Rule #6: If violence wasn't your last resort, you failed to resort to enough of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chugosh
Veteran


Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 864
Location: Kelso, Washington, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you wanted to mess with it at all, I think that would be the way to go; Just let your players use it as though they had two weapons with all the problems that gives them, such as the -2 for multiple actions. Keeping it FFF precludes a lot of the bothersome detail work seen in other nifty products, but would allow as easily "say so" judgements regarding them. Can I hit twice with a double sword? Sure, roll each hit at -2. Why? Because I say so.

All what you said, still.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SlasherEpoch
Legendary


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 5625
Location: Off stage left

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 2:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Technically, it counts as a single weapon. I don't have any problems with players who want to count them as two with standard multiaction and offhand penalties.
_________________
Proud Savagepedia contributor.

Evil Wig Enterprises Minion #15 - "The
Machete"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address MSN Messenger
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18044

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The jumani chain worked like that in 50 Fathoms. Basically just add under the notes of a two-handed weapon that could do it, "counts as two weapons."
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> SW General Chat & Game Stories All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum