Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Reach Weapons Revisited

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
razorwise
Legendary


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 2959
Location: Hither and Yon

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reach Weapons Revisited Reply with quote

Hello All...

With all this talk of reach weapons, my buddies and I were discussing some of the finer points of how this feature of some weapons might apply in settings such as Iron Dynasty or even a recreation of the 300...

*deep breath and we're off*

Question 1: A typical spear has a reach of 1. That's a given. However, can a person with a spear attack through a friendly to reach the person they are adjacent to?

Example
Character A is engaged in combat with Mook Y. Can Character B, directly behind character A and within reach of Mook Y attack through Character A's space?

Question 2:
If Character B can do so, what is the ruling of Gang Up bonus?

(My take is, in this instance, no Gang Up bonus as the rules state it's only applied to adjacent characters...)

Question 3:
Does the character with the reach weapon - the guy in the second rank - enjoy the Gang Up bonus of his compatriots?

Example
Character A is joined by Characters B and C and they are all ganging up with a healthy +2 Gang Up bonus on Mook Y. Character D comes up behind Character A and stabs through with his spear. If character D is allowed to attack, does he enjoy the +2 Gang Up bonus or none whatsover?

Question 4:
If the character is allowed to attack through a rank in front of him, does he suffer any penalty or the possibility of striking someone as per Innocent Bystander rules?

Example
Character B, with spear, attacks through Character A's space at Mook Y. If he rolls a 1 on his skill die, does he skewer his friend's liver or is it just considered a normal miss?

Thanks in advance!

Regards,

Sean
_________________
Reality Blurs
Reality Blurs Tweets!
The Razorwise Report
The Blur is Now on G+
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18039

PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 9:12 pm    Post subject: Re: Reach Weapons Revisited Reply with quote

razorwise wrote:
Question 1: A typical spear has a reach of 1. That's a given. However, can a person with a spear attack through a friendly to reach the person they are adjacent to?

Example
Character A is engaged in combat with Mook Y. Can Character B, directly behind character A and within reach of Mook Y attack through Character A's space?


Yep. Reach allows a character to attack a target 1" away; it doesn't matter if something is in the intervening space (other than it may count as Cover).

razorwise wrote:

Question 2:
If Character B can do so, what is the ruling of Gang Up bonus?

(My take is, in this instance, no Gang Up bonus as the rules state it's only applied to adjacent characters...)


Yep again. A GM could allow it if he wanted to, but by the book since the character isn't "adjacent," he would not count for Gang Up.

razorwise wrote:

Question 3:
Does the character with the reach weapon - the guy in the second rank - enjoy the Gang Up bonus of his compatriots?

Example
Character A is joined by Characters B and C and they are all ganging up with a healthy +2 Gang Up bonus on Mook Y. Character D comes up behind Character A and stabs through with his spear. If character D is allowed to attack, does he enjoy the +2 Gang Up bonus or none whatsover?


He would get the bonus. He additional adjacent foe adds +1 to all attackers Fighting rolls.

razorwise wrote:
Question 4:
If the character is allowed to attack through a rank in front of him, does he suffer any penalty or the possibility of striking someone as per Innocent Bystander rules?

Example
Character B, with spear, attacks through Character A's space at Mook Y. If he rolls a 1 on his skill die, does he skewer his friend's liver or is it just considered a normal miss?


It would just be a normal miss. A GM might apply a hit on an ally as the negative effect of an actual critical failure, but that's a situational call.

That said, going back to the first answer, the GM could also apply a Cover bonus for attacking past the allied character, no differently from trying to attack past any object in the way. Probably something along the line of Medium Cover (maybe Light if the ally is Small).

Hope that covers everything.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum