Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

50 Fathoms: Elemental Mastery

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JackO'Diamond
Novice


Joined: 15 Feb 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:50 am    Post subject: 50 Fathoms: Elemental Mastery Reply with quote

I'm looking to run 50 Fathoms soon, and one of my players is trying to gen a mage. She's unsure about how the elemental mastery edge works - does it simply allow the character access to another element's spells, which is how I read it, or does it also give other benefits such as new spells and power points - kinda like taking arcane background again - which is how she assumed it worked.

I'm thinking of letting her have access to another elemental list and one spell from the new list, but I'd like a clarification as to how the edge actually works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17348

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're pretty much correct. The Edge gives the character access to any restricted spells for another element, and it also automatically gives them access to the trappings of that element for any spells they already know.

For instance, a Fire mage takes the Edge to get access to the Water element. He now has access to Healing, Stun, and such which are normally Water-only spells (though he must still get those spells independently somehow via the New Power Edge or a tome). In addition, if the character had any powers that are available to both Fire and Water, he automatically can cast them with either trapping as he chooses. So if he had Elemental Manipulation, he could use either the Fire or Water version, and if he had Summon elemental, he could summon a Fire or Water elemental. His Bolt could be a Fire or Water, Beast Friend could be used on both fire and water-dwelling creatures, and so on...

And while "split" between two elements, the character suffers a -1 to Spellcasting rolls. As the book says, it's a steep cost until you get to archmage.

Hope that clears things up.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum