Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

A question about Arcane Powers and Running

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
therealtony
Seasoned


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 452
Location: Vancouver Bee.CEeeeee..

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:00 pm    Post subject: A question about Arcane Powers and Running Reply with quote

So...as we were playing Rippers last night, my escape artist/psionic activated his speed power to flee a swarm of nasty meat hungry bugs.."Human meat" that is..

After I activated my "Speed" the GM asked me if I was running as well and told me to roll a d6 to add to my now doubled pace..

At the time I thought to my self.."Boy this is great! I have a pace of 18! to bad nobody is around to watch me break the 1890 100 metre record"..

Later I wondered if the rules actually allow you to "Run" and stack that d6 bonus onto your Arcane Speed power?

It felt hinky..

Mighty elders hear my plea! We await your answer oh wisened sages of the Savage Worlds!
_________________
Savage Worlds: Pop Culture Character Conversions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18071

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 3:05 pm    Post subject: Re: A question about Arcane Powers and Running Reply with quote

therealtony wrote:
So...as we were playing Rippers last night, my escape artist/psionic activated his speed power to flee a swarm of nasty meat hungry bugs.."Human meat" that is..

After I activated my "Speed" the GM asked me if I was running as well and told me to roll a d6 to add to my now doubled pace..

At the time I thought to my self.."Boy this is great! I have a pace of 18! to bad nobody is around to watch me break the 1890 100 metre record"..

Later I wondered if the rules actually allow you to "Run" and stack that d6 bonus onto your Arcane Speed power?

It felt hinky..

Mighty elders hear my plea! We await your answer oh wisened sages of the Savage Worlds!


I don't feel "elder" or "wisened." Okay, maybe I'm feeling a bit "elder." Wink

As to the question, yes, absolutely. In fact, the Speed power specifically says that on a raise the character can Run as a free action. So they can definitely still run as a normal action without the raise.

Oh, but you still wouldn't break the 1890 100m run record. The earliest recorded time was 12 seconds in 1896 (unofficial). You'd need Fleet-Footed and Speed to pull off 100m in two rounds. Wink
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum