Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

ACEing a roll

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Theophage
Novice


Joined: 14 Jan 2007
Posts: 66
Location: Tucson, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 1:30 pm    Post subject: ACEing a roll Reply with quote

Now here's a question which is probably addressed somewhere else, but I'll be damned if I can find it.

The rule book says that when you ace a roll, say rolling a 6 on a d6, you roll again and add the result. The problem with this is that you can never roll a 6 on a d6 (or a 12, or an 1Cool using this method. Other games that use "exploding" dice rolls have you subtract one and then add, and this seems to make more sense.

So do I just add like the rules say, or was that an oversight?
_________________
...or not.

Daniel "Theophage" Clark
theophage (at) geocities (dot) com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18188

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:03 pm    Post subject: Re: ACEing a roll Reply with quote

Theophage wrote:
Now here's a question which is probably addressed somewhere else, but I'll be damned if I can find it.

The rule book says that when you ace a roll, say rolling a 6 on a d6, you roll again and add the result. The problem with this is that you can never roll a 6 on a d6 (or a 12, or an 18) using this method. Other games that use "exploding" dice rolls have you subtract one and then add, and this seems to make more sense.

So do I just add like the rules say, or was that an oversight?


Nope, do it just like the rules say. Not being able to roll a multiple of an exact die type has no effect on the system overall, so there is no "problem" associated with it.

One of the tricky parts of SW is that it often isn't just a matter of how any specific rule works, but how different rules all work together as a whole. It's kind of commonplace in the system, but with a little time it becomes fairly apparent.

Hope this helps!
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum