Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

still a little confused

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
antarion
Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:53 pm    Post subject: still a little confused Reply with quote

thanks, clint, for the explanation but i'm still just a little confused. from what i can gather, a guy who's shaken is injured, distracted, or otherwise in a position where he can't do anything until he recovers. therefore, if he can't fight, or do anything else wouldn't it follow that he can't avoid attacks to his full ability, either (even though, techncially, defending doesn't count as an action)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17749

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:50 am    Post subject: Re: still a little confused Reply with quote

antarion wrote:
thanks, clint, for the explanation but i'm still just a little confused. from what i can gather, a guy who's shaken is injured, distracted, or otherwise in a position where he can't do anything until he recovers. therefore, if he can't fight, or do anything else wouldn't it follow that he can't avoid attacks to his full ability, either (even though, techncially, defending doesn't count as an action)?


My previous explanation seemed to cause more confusion, but let me try again. Think of it like this...

A character who is Shaken can't take any other actions because all he is doing is defending himself.

It's kind of like the Defend manuever where a character can get a bonus to Parry but can't take any other actions. Well, when Shaken, a character automatically goes on the defensive which prevents their Parry from going down, but they can't take any other actions (and their Pace is reduced as well).

In effect, all the math is pre-done because it's unavoidable, so the game simply explains what the final result is (a Shaken result causes X).

Hope that makes more sense.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum