Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

All Rules Questions for Deadlands: Reloaded
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2006 3:42 pm    Post subject: All Rules Questions for Deadlands: Reloaded Reply with quote

If you have a question about the rules in Deadlands: Reloaded, please post them here.

This is just for how the published rules work; for discussions about opinions and house rules, please start a separate thread.

Thanks!

Sidenote: We'll try to quote the original question in the post with the answer. After we do so, we'll delete the original post to reduce the clutter in the thread.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Last edited by Clint on Fri Sep 29, 2006 12:32 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaoLong wrote:
Do you get the benefit from the marksman edge in duels?


As long as the character doesn't move, they get the benefit of Marksman even in a duel.

DaoLong wrote:
Can you make called shots in duels?


Yes. Think of it like a normal shooting roll with the "duel template" added.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rich Stokes wrote:
A character who has the Wing Chun Superior Kung Fu Edge essentially gets the same benefits as Two Fisted. Does this mean he can make two attacks with no penalty, or is he assumed to be making one with his "off hand (or foot)" so the second attack is at a -2?


Wing Chun as per the errata now grants an additional attack with no penalty that is separate from an off-hand attack.

Rich Stokes wrote:
If a character has the Chi-Power Kung-Fu AB, does he need a seperate skill for each individual power? So if he has Armour and Smite, does he need to buy points in both an Armour skill and a Smite skill, or does he just buy a single skill?


Yes, he needs a skill for each power. However, note that unlike AB (Superpowers), the skills are linked to an Attribute, so they cost less to increase overall.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Last edited by Clint on Wed Apr 29, 2009 7:56 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 10:55 am    Post subject: Re: Art of the Draw Reply with quote

Yuri wrote:
But what I don't understand is this: why would you choose speed over accuracy in the final part of the draw? Since both actions are resolved at the same time, and are said to take place at the same time... what's the point? Why saddle yourself with an extra -2?

If you want to be seen as faster on the draw, sure... but the game mechanics don't support this.

Or am I reading this competely wrong?


Let's see if this clears it up.

If both participants choose Speed, the actions are simultaneous.
If both participants choose Accuracy, the actions are simultaneous.

But Speed occurs before Accuracy.

So if one participant chooses Speed and the other Accuracy, the effects of the Speed attack are resolved first.

Hope that helps.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 10:46 am    Post subject: Re: Mad Scientist Arcane Background Reply with quote

Breschau of Livonia wrote:
Are the Mad Scientist's 20 Power Points per power (as in the Savage Worlds book - i.e. a each device has 20 Power Points) or total?


Other than what is listed, they work just like Weird Science in the core rulebook, so each device has their maximum number of PPs.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Last edited by Clint on Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:14 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

caul wrote:
When Dealing with the Devil, does the Huckster draw from a card deck of their own, or from the Action Deck.


A deck of their own.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Tue May 30, 2006 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

morgan wrote:
Also, why would you ever choose Shaolin Temple style rather than Tan Tui? One gives you Str+d6 damage, the other gives you Str+d6 AND free rise from prone ability.


Tan Tui only affects kicks... which probably won't come up much but could. Similarly, the bonus "free" rise from Prone also isn't a major ability. Any character can rise from Prone for free if attacked in melee. So this extra is a minor effect (2" of movement) that is situationally advantageous based on the character using specific tactics. Figured to be about equal to only affecting kicks.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Last edited by Clint on Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:14 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Devcon001 wrote:
A posse successfully reduces the fear level through Tale Telling, and therefore gets a Legend Chip in the Fate Pot.

One of the characters in the Posse (the one who spread the tale) has the Tale Teller edge, which gives HIM a legend chip.

Is the legend chip earned by the Tale Teller the one that goes in the pot, or is it *in addition* to that one?


In addition. It is their own chip for their use only and separate from the Legend Chip that goes into the pot.

Devcon001 wrote:
Also, since players can't save Fate Chips from one game to the next, is the chip the tale teller with the edge gets different, or does he *have* to use it immediately before the session ends?


Nope. It doesn't go into the players' pot like other Fate Chips at all, even at the end of a session. The player gets it and keeps it until used, meaning it can carry over from session to session.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 11:24 am    Post subject: Re: Does WOB damage cap apply to martial arts? Reply with quote

Cloth Frog wrote:
If I have a character with d4 strength with a martial arts edge and superior kung fu edge of Tan Tui -does my kick still cause strenght + d6 damage or is it limited to 2d4 since the (weapon damage)bonus cannot exceed my strength according to the Way of the Brave?


It's Str+1d6. Way of the Brave weapon rules don't apply. It's not a weapon; it's an edge.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Last edited by Clint on Wed May 31, 2006 12:23 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Wed May 31, 2006 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cloth Frog wrote:
Quote:


It's Str+1d6. Way of the Brave doesn't apply. It's not a weapon; it's an edge.


Can fate chips be used to re roll and is there a wild die then or is it still not considered a trait test?


Sorry, my bad. The weapon rules for Way of the Brave don't apply. I'll edit and clarify that above.

It is still a melee damage roll as per the Setting rules. So, no Wild Die and no Fate Chips.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 9:18 am    Post subject: Re: Which came first the chi or the skill? Reply with quote

Cloth Frog wrote:
How many power points do characters with AB background Chi get? 20 the same as SW core super powers?


Yep. Like it says in the book, other than what is listed there, it works just like AB (Superpowers) from the main rulebook.

Cloth Frog wrote:
When gaining xps if I choose a new power I must also take a new skill tied to that power. If I can only either gain a new edge or a new skill how can I do both at once? Do I need to take the skill first without the Chi power to perform it and then take the chi power after gaining another 5 experience points? Is there any value having eithe the skill or the power without the other?


If a Chi Mastery character gains a new power, then they will be using it unskilled (at -2) until they gain another level-up and can pick up the associated skill. There's no way to learn the skill to use the power without having the power first.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 10:02 am    Post subject: Re: Blessed Powers Reply with quote

Breschau of Livonia wrote:
Since blessed don't need to buy powers, does this mean they can try to use a power they don't have the proper "rank" for.

For example, suppose Rev. Bob is a Novice Blessed. Can he try to cast Barrier, which has a rank requirement of Seasoned?


Yep.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Last edited by Clint on Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:16 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MadTinkerer wrote:
The Arcane folks can still take Professional Edges that are not specifically proscribed, right? Like a Blessed taking Holy Warrior, for example? Or a Mad Scientist taking McGuyver?


Yep.

MadTinkerer wrote:
The description of the Shamanism AB (page 80, third paragraph under the Shamans header) seems to imply that Voodooists are Shamans, even through it's a Edge for Blessed. (I was expecting Voodoo to be rolled into Shamanism myself...)


Since Shamanism is connected to AB (Miracles) as mentioned previously, they are all one big (happy?) family. Wink

MadTinkerer wrote:
Drunken Style seems inferior to Block.


Novice Edge versus Seasoned Edge... and they stack.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wrathamon wrote:
Can a huckster split the power point cost of a hex between his own reserve and drawing on a manitou?

EG, Benny has 3 power points to his name, but needs to pull a 6 point hex. To get that much energy from a manitou, he needs a Straight or better. But if he can use his own 3 power points, he only needs Jacks or better to get the remainder.


Nope, it's All In or No Deal with manitous.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seeker of Truth wrote:
When a Huckster Deals with the Devil, how exactly are PPs spent to maintain the spell?


The huckster decides how many PPs he wants, including those for maintenance. That's the point where the variables are decided.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Last edited by Clint on Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:17 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lamrok wrote:
Seeker of Truth wrote:
3. How do you sustain spells using AB: Miracles? I saw that the mod is supposed to be -2 per rank, not -1 per PP, so I'm confused how this would work.


And how about using Greater Healing to restore a non-permanent injury? I assume there's an extra penalty, but it isn't clear to me what it would be.


It's listed in the power description. There is an innate additional -4 penalty for that use, which also applies to Blessed.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Noshrok Grimskull wrote:
This might not be a rules question, but still...
Page 120 of DL:R mentions anouks. In the Weird West!?! Surprised Surely that can't be right. And if (for some reason) it is right, where are the stats for them?

Just curious. Wink


Congratulations on catching that Easter Egg. Very Happy

But that's all it was. Wink
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Old Patch wrote:
Blessed: If a Blessed casts Boost/Lower trait is it only for one step, or does the Blessed get the two step version with a raise?


For any power that works in that way, if they get a raise on their roll, they get the additional effect.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Dead Ranger wrote:
On the Martial Artist Edge the book states that it grants immunity from the Unarmed Defender penalty and that opponents get no gang-up bonus against the character. The last part seems a bit much as Florintine has a higher Fighting requirement and only reduces the gang-up penalty by 1. Is the edge supposed to be that strong?


Two different things. The major advantage to Martial Artist is immunity to Gang-Up (the unarmed defender is actually minor), but the major advantage to Florentine is the +1 bonus to Fighting rolls. The reduction in Gang-Up is minor there.

So, yes, that is what it's supposed to do.


Rich Stokes wrote:
Can a Martial Artist use Smite on his fists?


Yep. As a matter of fact, he can cast it on himself as a “weapon,” affecting all his unarmed attacks.


Yuri wrote:
Aren't Rattlers supposed to be Wild Cards?

I know their tough, but making them Mooks seems to lessen their impact, and doesn't really jive with what we know about them.


Most Rattlers encountered will be Extras, but occasionally an extraordinary specimen will be a Wild Card. Fear these Rattler Lords. Twisted Evil


Magog777 wrote:
Quick question: there is a beastiary write up for Werewolves in DL:R and its seems to be "tweaked" just a bit from the SW main book. Is there a reason you did not include a write up for regular Vampires tweaked for DL?


Werewolves work a bit different, so they needed to be listed. Vampires work just like in the core Savage Worlds rulebook, so they didn’t. The exception is the very “tweaked” for Deadlands version of vampires, Nosferatu, which are in the book.


MadDrJeffe wrote:
Would a Sledgehammer do about as much damage as a warclub or would it do St+d8?


I’d simply use the stats for a Maul from the core rulebook, adjusting for Way of the Brave as normal.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Last edited by Clint on Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rich Stokes wrote:
Voodoo: Just to clarify.

The Voodooist must spend time the night before bacically getting the Loa onboard to aid the following day. I assume that they can create whatever charms they might need and keep as many around as they'll need. That is to say, they do not need to list out exactly which charms they prepared the night before. They are always assumed to have enough of the right kind of charms on them at any given time, right?


Right. They just have to be able to spend the time preparing for the next day. If they do, they can use any power normally. If they can't, they don't have access to powers for that day.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum